Current Obsessions

Carlsbad State Beach, UNIF swimwear, OneTeaspoon bikini, Beagle, As I previously mentioned, my ‘family’ and I (and by family, I am, of course, referring to my fiancé and our two dogs) recently moved from LA to SD (San Diego). One of the things I’ve been looking forward to most about our move is

the fact that we’ll be wayyy closer to the beach (about 5 minutes, to be exact) and we’ve definitely been taking full advantage! Our new favorite activity is hanging out at the beach with Sonny and Stevie (the fox and the hound); they smile from ear to ear, a sight which is almost more magical than the ocean itself.

Sustainable Fashion, Larchmont Shopping, Ethical FashionIf you read my blog, then you know that I love to support sustainable brands. This week I’d like to introduce you to Alternative Apparel, a brand I discovered while lunching at Larchmont Village Wine and Cheese (pictured in the background – one of the best sandwiches in LA)! But back to AA – they’re all about echo friendly fabric innovations, and all of their designs feature recycled and organic materials. And it certainly doesn’t hurt that their clothes are also super cute and comfortable, with lots of great basics for men and women!

Elliphant Music, Good SongsElliphant is a Swedish singer/rapper whose music falls under the genre of synthpop. I love most of her music, but especially her song ‘Down on Life.’ It’s got some cool dancehall/bass vibes, which is my favorite kind of music.

 

Shopping Local, Ethical Eating, Sustainable PracticesIn case you’ve been living under a rock for the past few years, I’m here to tell you that eating locally is important. Lucky for me, this has been pretty easy to do; for the past three years, the Hollywood Farmer’s Market was located right outside my window every Sunday. Now that we’ve moved, I’m really starting to miss it, and am definitely going to start looking for local markets in my area. I would definitely urge you to do the same – not only is local produce fresher, and, therefore, tastier, you’re also doing the environment a favor by shopping locally.

P.S. When I was at university, I took a course on the ‘Political Representations of Food’ and it was an eye opening experience, to say the least. If you want to learn more about issues surrounding the food industry, you can start by watching the documentary ‘Food, Inc.’

Easy Recipe, Sam the Cooking GuyThere’s just something about this time of year that calls for comfort food, and to me, that’s always meant peanut butter and jelly. But lately I’ve been all about the grilled PB&J, a recipe I learned from Sam the Cooking Guy (http://www.thecookingguy.com); being engaged to his son certainly has its perks! If you’re already a fan of the old-school classic, then this modern twist is seriously going to blow your mind!

All you’ll need is:

  • 2 pieces of bread: I like to use one that’s slightly sweet and made of whole grains
  • Your favorite peanut butter
  • Jelly – I’m partial to raspberry, but feel free to use whichever flavor happens to be your favorite
  • Butter (or butter-like substance

Then just:

  • Spread the peanut butter on one piece of bread, and the jelly on the other (as you have done a thousand times if you are a PB&J lover such as myself) and put them together
  • Lightly butter the outsides of the sandwich
  • Place in a warm pan (medium heat should do the trick), flip once it starts to brown, and let the other side brown
  • Cut in half, diagonal, quarters (or whichever way your mom taught you)
  • And Serve with chocolate milk… this last step isn’t absolutely necessary, but I highly recommend it!
Leave a Reply

