My Street Style: Vintage Dress + Dark Lips

vintage 60's dress, brocade dress, mini dress, what to do with vintage dress, how to customize vintage This week my street style took a decidedly dressy turn, when I donned this vintage brocade dress for Locale Magazine’s Fall Formal in Laguna Beach. I know I’ve already mentioned my love of vintage before (link), but it certainly deserves another shout out – shopping vintage is a sustainable practice that just so happens to be environmentally friendly, and vintage pieces are almost always better quality, and less expensive, than their modern counterparts. I didn’t actually ‘buy’ this particular dress – I inherited it from my great aunt; she wore it in the 60’s and never had the heart to throw it away. And I’m so glad that she didn’t! It’s now one of the most treasured pieces in my wardrobe. When it comes to vintage, don’t be afraid to get a little creative. I had this dress shortened and tailored to fit me better; in fact, it was floor-length when I got it. It’s so worth spending a little money to have a one-of-a-kind piece that fits perfectly and is styled exactly as you like it! The tailor’s fee is a lot less than you would pay for something brand new of the same caliber.

8 thoughts on “My Street Style: Vintage Dress + Dark Lips

Leave a Reply

